Library Technology & Facilities: Technology for Accessibility
Assistive Technology and Accommodations in the Libraries
The libraries welcome all users, and endeavor to diminish barriers to information access. Not all information formats are inherently accessible to all users, so the library provides access to a variety of assistive technologies to foster independent use of library resources. If the technology available does not meet the needs of a user with a disability, suitable accommodations will be made, in collaboration with the user and the Center for Accessibility.
Assistive Technology at Each Library
Headphones are available in all libraries.
All public computers in the libraries are equipped with:
Widows OS
- the JAWS screen reader
- ZoomText
- Windows Narrator
- Windows Magnifier
- Windows Onscreen Keyboard
- Windows Speech Recognition
IOS
- Voice Over (screen reader with speech and braille output)
- Accessibility functions found in System Preferences include zoom controls, display modification, captioning, dictation, and keyboard adjustments.
Elevators
The William J. Spangler Library has three levels. Wheelchair-accessible elevators provide access to the upper and lower levels of the library. The elevators are key-operated; please ask a staff member for assistance.
Assistive Technology Room
The Assistive Technology Room provides a space where users can use speech-enabled technology and other equipment undisturbed. Available equipment:
Onyx (Freedom Scientific)
A specialized document camera, this item has a camera on a mobile head, which can be redirected as needed. Magnify text or objects, capture moving images; read text aloud. 1.5x to 32x magnification. Save scans and videos to USB drive for later use.
Eye Pal Solo (Freedom Scientific)
This tool scans print documents, converts them to text, and reads them aloud. It is useful for print books, especially those that cannot leave the library; likewise magazines and newspapers. Save documents in .TXT or MP3 format to a USB flash drive.
SARA (Freedom Scientific)
Another tool for reading printed text aloud. It can save scanned documents to a CD disk, and read documents on a CD disk. It can also read books in the Daisy format. This item does not have a USB or HDMI port.
Aladdin Classic
This CCTV magnifier displays enlarged images of printed material in black and white. 14" monitor, 4.5 to 50x magnification.
The library at the Worthington Center Atlantic City Campus is located on the lowest level of the campus building. A ramp beside the staircase provides access to the space.
Assistive Technology Room
The Assistive Technology Room provides a space where users can use speech-enabled technology and other equipment undisturbed. It is located at the level of the main hallway; no need to use the ramp. Available equipment:
Onyx (Freedom Scientific)
A specialized document camera, this item has a camera on a mobile head, which can be redirected as needed. Magnify text or objects, capture moving images; read text aloud. 1.5x to 32x magnification. Save scans and videos to USB drive for later use.
Eye Pal Solo (Freedom Scientific)
This tool scans print documents, converts them to text, and reads them aloud. It is useful for print books, especially those that cannot leave the library; likewise magazines and newspapers. Save documents in .TXT or MP3 format to a USB flash drive.
Reveal 16i (Humanware)
This tool magnifies text or objects, reads PDF documents aloud. Camera has a mobile head that can be redirected. Switch to Android operating system to use mobile apps. Magniifcation: 1-10x optical, 1-45x digital. Save documents in various formats to USB or to the cloud.
The library at the Cape May County Campus is located on the second level of the building, above the cafeteria area. There is a passenger elevator located just outside the library
Assistive Technology Room
The Assistive Technology Room provides a space where users can use speech-enabled technology and other equipment undisturbed. It is located adjacent to the library, on the second floor of the campus building, and can be reached by the elevator in the hallway. Available equipment:
Onyx (Freedom Scientific)
A specialized document camera, this item has a camera on a mobile head, which can be redirected as needed. Magnify text or objects, capture moving images; read text aloud. 1.5x to 32x magnification. Save scans and videos to USB drive for later use.
Eye Pal Solo (Freedom Scientific)
This tool scans print documents, converts them to text, and reads them aloud. It is useful for print books, especially those that cannot leave the library; likewise magazines and newspapers. Save documents in .TXT or MP3 format to a USB flash drive.
SARA (Freedom Scientific)
Another tool for reading printed text aloud. It can save scanned documents to a CD disk, and read documents on a CD disk. It can also read books in the Daisy format. This item does not have a USB or HDMI port.
Aladdin Classic
This CCTV magnifier displays enlarged images of printed material in black and white. 14" monitor, 4.5 to 50x magnification.
To the extent possible, the library works to ensure that the online information that it provides is accessible to all users.
Library Web Site
The library web site is designed with WCAG 2.9 standards in mind. All content under the control of the library should be accessible; please let us know if there is a problem.
The library provides links to resources published by other organizations, which may not adhere to accessibility standards. The library has no control over the design of external sites.
Library Catalog
For optimal accessibility, use the library catalog in Accessibility Mode. The link to the Accessibility Mode is contained in the header. Visually, it is located at the top of the screen, on the right side.
Subscription-Based Resources
Many of the research tools to which the library subscribes include accessibility features, like read-aloud functions for text documents, zoom capabilities, and high-contrast text.
Ebsco, one of our major database vendors, offers an Accessibility Navigation Guide.
ProQuest also provides some assistance with accessibility features.
Not all full-text documents are equally accessible. If you encounter a document that does not work with your screen reader, please reach out to the library or the Center for Accessibility for assistance.
More Assistive Technology
The Center for Accessibility offers many more tools than are available in the library to support students with disabilities. Many of these resources can be hand-carried, and are lent to students for the entire term. Other support services and accommodations are available, too. Be sure toe consult with the Center for Accessibility to make sure that you have all the tools you need to be successful in your studies at Atlantic Cape.
Supporting Different Abilities
Getting In
All of the libraries have accessible entrances.
Multi-levels
The Spangler Library, in Mays Landing, is our only multi-level facility. Wheelchair-accessible elevators provide access to all levels. Elevators are key-operated; please ask a staff member for help.
Restrooms
In Mays Landing and Cape May County, wheelchair-accessible restrooms are available just outside the library. In Atlantic City, all public restrooms are located off the central lobby.
Desks, Keyboards, Books
Need help finding a desk you can use, a special keyboard? Need a book from the stacks? Please let us know.
Don't use a keyboard or mouse? Windows Text to Speech app is available on all library machines using the Windows operating system. Apple machines can be set for dictation.
Reading Print Documents
Magnify
Onyx (Freedom Scientific)
1.5x to 32x magnification. Save scans and videos to USB drive for later use.
Aladdin Classic
14" monitor, 4.5 to 50x magnification.
Read Aloud
Onyx (Freedom Scientific)
Save scans and videos to USB drive for later use.
Eye Pal Solo (Freedom Scientific)
Save documents in .TXT or MP3 format to a USB flash drive.
SARA (Freedom Scientific)
Another tool for reading printed text aloud. It can save scanned documents to a CD disk, and read documents on a CD disk. It can also read books in the Daisy format. This item does not have a USB or HDMI port.
Using Computers
Windows
All computers in the libraries running on the Windows platform are equipped with
- Jaws (screen reader)
- ZoomText (magnifier)
- Fusion (integrates Jaws amd ZoomText)
- Windows Magnifier
- Windows Narrator
- Windows Onscreen Keyboard
- Windows Speech Recognition
IOS
- Voice Over (screen reader with speech and braille output)
- Accessibility functions found in System Preferences include zoom controls, display modification, captioning, dictation, and keyboard adjustments.
Library Catalog
For optimal accessibility, use the library catalog in Accessibility Mode. The link to the Accessibility Mode is contained in the header. Visually, it is located at the top of the screen, on the right side.
Subscription Databases
Many of our subscription databases include accessibility functions for reading text aloud, or magnifying text, or changing contrast.
Ebsco, one of our major database vendors, offers an Accessibility Navigation Guide.
ProQuest also provides some assistance with accessibility features.
Full-Text Items
Some documents that are provided as full-text in our subscription databases are less accessible than we would wish. If you encounter a document that does not work with your screen reader, please reach out to the library or the Center for Accessibility for assistance.
Speech to Text
Prefer to compose out loud? Machines in the labs support text to speech.
Windows OS:
- Windows Speech Recognition
IOS
Look in the settings for the keyboard and activate the dictation function.
Media Subtitles
All media created in the library (tutorials, instructional videos) have embedded subtitles.
Most of the titles in our subscription media package have embedded subtitles.
Communicating with Staff
Please let us know your preferred method of communication. We'll do our best to accommodate your needs.
Reading Print Documents
Magnify
Onyx (Freedom Scientific)
1.5x to 32x magnification. Save scans and videos to USB drive for later use.
Aladdin Classic
14" monitor, 4.5 to 50x magnification.
Read Aloud
Onyx (Freedom Scientific)
Save scans and videos to USB drive for later use.
Eye Pal Solo (Freedom Scientific)
Save documents in .TXT or MP3 format to a USB flash drive.
SARA (Freedom Scientific)
Another tool for reading printed text aloud. It can save scanned documents to a CD disk, and read documents on a CD disk. It can also read books in the Daisy format. This item does not have a USB or HDMI port.
Using Computers
Windows
All computers in the libraries running on the Windows platform are equipped with
- Jaws (screen reader)
- ZoomText (magnifier)
- Fusion (integrates Jaws amd ZoomText)
- Windows Magnifier
- Windows Narrator
- Windows Onscreen Keyboard
- Windows Speech Recognition
IOS
- Voice Over (screen reader with speech and braille output)
- Accessibility functions found in System Preferences include zoom controls, display modification, captioning, dictation, and keyboard adjustments.
Library Catalog
For optimal accessibility, use the library catalog in Accessibility Mode. The link to the Accessibility Mode is contained in the header. Visually, it is located at the top of the screen, on the right side.
Subscription Databases
Many of our subscription databases include accessibility functions for reading text aloud, or magnifying text, or changing contrast.
Ebsco, one of our major database vendors, offers an Accessibility Navigation Guide.
ProQuest also provides some assistance with accessibility features.
Full-Text Items
Some documents that are provided as full-text in our subscription databases are less accessible than we would wish. If you encounter a document that does not work with your screen reader, please reach out to the library or the Center for Accessibility for assistance.
Speech to Text
Prefer to compose out loud? Machines in the labs support text to speech.
Windows OS:
- Windows Speech Recognition
IOS
Look in the settings for the keyboard and activate the dictation function.