Library Collections: Focused Collections

The Hoffman Collection honors Lynn Hoffman, who was an important influence in the development of the Academy of Culinary Arts at Atlantic Cape, and a beloved friend and mentor to members of the Academy faculty. Hoffman was a Beacons by the Sea scholar at Atlantic Cape, and  founded the culinary arts major at Drexel University. He was also a notable novelist and food writer. Hoffman generously donated his collection of works on food and cuisine to the Atlantic Cape libraries, and additional works have been added to the collection in his honor.

The collection contains works on a wide range of culinary topics. It is located in Spangler Library.

Located in Atlantic City and Cape May, these two small collections contain books to support students learning to be effective writers and users of the English language. Each collection includes a small number of core reference titles.

Most of the works in the writing collections can be borrowed.

This collection supports students whose first language is something other than English, and also students who are developmental readers and writers. The collection consists primarily of works of fiction, but also includes some popular nonfiction, and some study resources. The works cover a wide range of topics, including literary classics and many stories from diverse cultures. Books are available for a broad range of reading skills,

The Nursing Collection (call number range R) in Spangler Library can be found in one of the large study rooms. It includes both Reference and Circulating material. Print journals on nursing are also located in the Nursing Room.

Nursing students should be aware that the library also provides access to an online collection of nursing titles, and subscribes to CINAHL Full Text.

Located in Spangler Library, the Children's Literature collection is a circulating collection that includes both works for children and critical works on literature for children.

Located primarily in Spangler Library, this new collection includes both fiction and nonfiction.

This is a rotating collection of popular fiction and nonfiction, developed and curated in cooperation with the Atlantic County Library System.