Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries: Find Articles: News, Scholarship, General Interest

Tutoring Textbook Reserves Find Reference Sources Find Books Find Articles Find Media New York Times Wall Street Journal Research Guides Ask a Librarian Nonprofit Resource Centers Art Gallery

Icon Legend

Key to icons used to describe databases and other resources
	Open access. No login required.
	Requires login when Off Campus. Limited to Atlantic Cape students, faculty and staff
	Many items full-text
	Some full text.
	No full text.
	Complete videos
	An Ebscohost Database.
	A Proquest Database.
	Gale-Cengage Resource.
	Digital Commons/bepress
	Infobase Resource

Find Articles by Subject

Multidisciplinary databases

These tools are useful for finding articles in any subject field. They cover a broad range of topics, but in less depth than the more specialized databases.

Look here for articles from
- Popular magazines (for a general audience).
- Selected newspapers.
- Scholarly journals (for research studies and theoretical perspectives).

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from scholarly journals, trade magazines, and popular magazines. It covers subjects in the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences and Science. Many of the articles are available as full text.
MasterFile Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides full text magazines, periodicals, and reference books covering a wide range of subject areas. It also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags. Search for Consumer Reports and more here!.
Black Life in America Collection This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today. Content from 19000+ news sources, current and historic. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent.
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
A selective index to Ph.D. dissertations completed at American and international universities.
No Full Text. Consult a librarian before purchasing articles!
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A free multidisciplinary index to scholarly articles.
No Full Text. Consult a librarian before purchasing articles!

News & Current Events

Keep up with world news!

Use for any topic connected to current events.

Great primary sources for historical research.

New York Times This link opens in a new window
A highly respected newspaper covering national, international, and regional news. Special sections on science, education, arts, book reviews, and food. Through the library, students, faculty and staff can set up a personal account to access this resource.
Set up your account, using these instructions. You can also check out this short instructional video from the Times.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The primary business-oriented newspaper in the United States. Published 6 days a week. Editorial policies tend toward the conservative. Opinion pieces on science topics are not always aligned with the established consensus of the scientific community. Through the library, students, faculty and staff can set up a personal account to access this resource. Set up your account, using these instructions
Press of Atlantic City This link opens in a new window
Our local newspaper. Full text coverage 1988+; images available 2018+
New Jersey Newspapers This link opens in a new window
News from around the state.
Philadelphia Inquirer This link opens in a new window
News from Philadelphia and the PA-NJ-DE tri-state area.
Black Life in America Collection This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today. Content from 19000+ news sources, current and historic. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent.
Access Multicultural News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and news sources from many cultural perspectives.
Access Business News This link opens in a new window
Business and trade news sources. Emphasis is on U.S. publications, but selected sources from around the world are included.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Covers regional business news sources including newspapers and business trade magazines.
Contains full text and links to news articles.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from the United States and around the world.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
More newspapers from across the United States and around the world. Many are full-text.

Controversial Issues

A great starting place for argumentative essays or any project on a current issue.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text databases providing differing points of view on current social issues, such as affirmative action, censorship, ecology, mental health, and many more. For best results, use the Browse Topics feature. All content requires critical thinking.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers controversial issues of many descriptions. Contains many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Links to additional full-text articles. For best results, use the Browse Topics feature.

A-Z Database List

See a list of all Atlantic Cape Libraries databases in alphabetical order.

Working Off Campus?

Off-campus access to most library resources is password-protected. 3 ways to get the user name and password:

Visit the library.
Go to Blackboard.
- Look under Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape
Send an email request to library@atlantic.edu

Feeling Lost?

Help is on the way! Ask a Librarian, or check out our HELP! page.

Let Us Get It For You!

Not all articles found in our databases include the complete text. Need something that's not available full-text? Ask for an Interlibrary Loan. It's fast and easy.

Interlibrary Loan for Articles

Check out our Print Periodicals

Print Magazines in the Library

A list of all the periodicals (popular and scholarly) that the library receives as print on paper.