Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries: Academic Writing: Plagiarism and Citing Sources: Home

Defining Plagiarism

Plagiarism
from Encyclopedia of Social Problems
To represent oneself as the author of some work that is in fact the work of someone else is to plagiarize. Plagiarism may include the “passing off” of the form of the work—for example, the exact words of a piece of writing—or the intellectual content, or both.

Click on the link to read more.

Learning to Use Sources

Harvard Guide to Using Sources

They Say / I Say by Gerald Graff; Cathy Birkenstein; Russel Durst They Say / I Say demystifies academic writing by identifying its key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said ("they say") to set up one's own argument ("I say"). The book also provides templates to help students make these key moves in their own writing. This version includes readings that demonstrate those moves--and provide stimulating conversations for them to enter. The Second Edition includes an anthology of 44 readings that will provoke students to think--and write--about five important issues, including two new ones: Is Higher Education Worth the Price? and Why Does It Matter Who Wins the Big Game?
Call Number: PE 1431 .G72 (CM,ML,WO)
ISBN: 9780393912753
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
Using Sources Effectively-3rd Ed by Robert H. Harris * This short supplementary textbook will help all students who use research in writing, from those writing a short essay with a few sources to those writing a full-scale major research paper. * The easy-to-follow advice will have students writing better research papers right away. * Detailed, example-filled instruction about proper source use and citation gives students all the information they need to avoid unintentional plagiarism. * Focusing on practical and effective strategies for incorporating sources, the book teaches students how to: · add strength to their argument and interest to their writing through the skillful use of sources · select, evaluate, and prepare sources for use · avoid plagiarism through the proper use of quotation, paraphrase, summary, and citation * Activities at the end of each chapter help students internalize their newly acquired skills. An instructor's answer key is included, making it easy to start using this book right away. * The examples in the book are presented in both APA and MLA citation styles, though the book will be a useful resource regardless of the particular style of citation and bibliography you require in your classes. * Helps your students learn how to avoid plagiarism while they discover techniques for writing better research papers. * Updated APA and MLA citation styles and material on research strategies and source selection (Chapter 2), quoting sources effectively (Chapter 4), and grammar and mechanics (Chapter 9).
Call Number: LB 2369 .H37 2011 (CM,WO Writing)
ISBN: 9781884585937
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Cite Them Right by Richard Pears; Graham Shields Covering all information sources used by students, this guide provides detailed examples of new media, such as the Internet, text messages and virtual learning environments and a comprehensive range of printed sources.
Call Number: PN171.F56 P43 2010 (ML,WO)
ISBN: 9780230272316
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers by Kate L. Turabian; Gregory G. Colomb (Editor); Joseph M. Williams (Editor); University of Chicago Press Staff (Editor) High school students, two-year college students, and university students all need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. In the new fourth edition of Turabian's popular guide, the team behind Chicago's widely respected The Craft of Research has reconceived and renewed this classic for today's generation. Designed for less advanced writers than Turabian's Manual of Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition, Gregory G. Colomb and Joseph M. Williams here introduce students to the art of defining a topic, doing high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging and solid college paper. The Student's Guide is organized into three sections that lead students through the process of developing and revising a paper. Part 1, "Writing Your Paper," guides students through the research process with discussions of choosing and developing a topic, validating sources, planning arguments, writing drafts, avoiding plagiarism, and presenting evidence in tables and figures. Part 2, "Citing Sources," begins with a succinct introduction to why citation is important and includes sections on the three major styles students might encounter in their work--Chicago, MLA, and APA--all with full coverage of electronic source citation. Part 3, "Style," covers all matters of style important to writers of college papers, from punctuation to spelling to presenting titles, names, and numbers. With the authority and clarity long associated with the name Turabian, the fourth edition of Student's Guide to Writing College Papers is both a solid introduction to the research process and a convenient handbook to the best practices of writing college papers. Classroom tested and filled with relevant examples and tips, this is a reference that students, and their teachers, will turn to again and again.
Call Number: LB 2369 .T82 2010 (CM,ML,WO)
ISBN: 9780226816302
Publication Date: 2010-04-15