All Atlantic Cape library pages have a new web address. Please update any bookmarks you may have.
Culinary Arts: Home
This is a guide to information resources in the field of culinary arts.
Welcome,
Atlantic Cape Culinary Academy Students
- Are you writing a research paper on the history of salt?
- Maybe you'd like more information on how to start your own cafe or wine bar?
- Are you tired of getting the same sketchy facts over and over from an endless number of websites?
Try the library's databases or culinary books for in-depth, reliable information. Use the pages of this guide to find print, digital and Internet resources available to Atlantic Cape students
Find your textbook in the library!
Books from the Reserve Collection are for use in the library. Scanning and photocopying is permitted within the limits of copyright law. The following are currently available at the Mays Landing Campus.
Professional Cooking by
The Ninth Edition ofProfessional Cooking reflects the changing nature of our understanding of cooking and related fields such as food safety, nutrition, and dietary practices, as well as new thinking about how best to teach this material. What has not changed is the core material that focuses on the essentials--the comprehensive understanding of ingredients and basic cooking techniques that are the foundation of success in the kitchen, and the development of manual skills to apply this knowledge.
Call Number: ML RESERVE TX820 .G54 2018ISBN: 9781119399612Publication Date: 2018-02-13
Culinary calculations : simplified math for culinary professionals, 2nd ed. by
The math skills needed for a successful foodservice career--now in a new edition Culinary Calculations, Second Edition provides the mathematical knowledge and skills that are essential for a successful career in today's competitive foodservice industry. This user-friendly guide starts with basic principles before introducing more specialized topics like recipe conversion and costing, AP/EP, menu pricing, and inventory costs. Written in a nontechnical, easy-to-understand style, the book features a running case study that applies math concepts to a real-world example: opening a restaurant. This revised and updated Second Edition of Culinary Calculations covers relevant math skills for four key areas: Basic math for the culinary arts and foodservice industry Math for the professional kitchen Math for the business side of the foodservice industry Computer applications for the foodservice industry Each chapter is rich with resources, including learning objectives, helpful callout boxes for particular concepts, example menus and price lists, and information tables. Review questions, homework problems, and the case study end each chapter. Also included is an answer key for the even-numbered problems throughout the book. Culinary Calculations, Second Edition provides readers with a better understanding of the culinary math skills needed to expand their foodservice knowledge and sharpen their business savvy as they strive for success in their careers in the foodservice industry.
Call Number: ML RESERVE TX911.3 .M33 J56 2008ISBN: 9780471748168Publication Date: 2008-03-10
Restaurant Concepts, management and operations, 8th ed. by
TRY (FREE for 14 days), OR RENT this title: www.wileystudentchoice.com Restaurant Concepts, Management, and Operations, 8th Edition takes the reader from the initial idea to the grand opening. It features comprehensive, applications-based coverage of all aspects of developing, opening, and running a restaurant. This includes topics such as staffing, legal and regulatory concerns, cost control and general financing, marketing and promotion, equipment and design, the menu, sanitation, and concept. A one-stop guide to the restaurant business, the Eighth Edition of Walker's, Restaurant Concepts, Management, and Operations continues the success of previous editions, providing, in an easy-to-read way, all of the skills and information needed to master every challenge and succeed in this highly competitive and rewarding industry. Each chapter has been revised, updated, and enhanced with numerous industry examples, sidebars, charts, tables, photographs, and menus. All of this information will help restaurant owners make the decisions necessary to build a thriving business.
Call Number: ML RESERVE TX911.3 .M27 W353 2018ISBN: 9781119326106Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals by
Combine the insights of an experienced dietitian and a renowned chef in this practical guide to nutrition and food In the newly revised 10th Edition of Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals, registered nutritionist Karen E. Drummond and executive chef Lisa M. Brefere deliver an insightful guide to incorporating healthy, balanced dietary techniques into everyday practice. From national nutrition guidelines to food preparation and labeling standards, the authors cover every relevant aspect of planning, preparing, and serving healthy meals. They include updated 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines for Americans from the USDA, the latest nutrition research, culinary trends, ingredients, and planning menus to meet the diverse nutritional needs of today's customers. This book also includes: A thorough introduction to the fundamentals of nutrition and foods, including why nutrition is important, what constitutes a healthy diet, and discussions of calories and nutrients A comprehensive exploration of balanced cooking and menus, including how to build flavor, balanced baking, modifying recipes, and gluten-free baking Practical discussions of applied nutrition, including how to handle customers' special nutrition requests, weight management, and nutrition for people of all ages Several appendices including serving sizes for MyPlate food groups and dietary reference intakes An enhanced e-book with links to technique videos, interactive games, quizzes, and glossary entries Perfect for students completing a culinary arts or foodservice management curriculum, Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals, Tenth Edition is also an indispensable resource for chefs, cooks, and anyone else who professionally prepares food.
Call Number: ML Reserve TX353 .D78 2022ISBN: 9781119777199Publication Date: 2021-12-21
Bread: a baker's book of techniques and recipes, 3rd ed. by
When Bread was first published in 2004, it received the Julia Child Award for best First Book from the International Association of Culinary Professionals and became an instant classic. Hailed as a "masterwork of bread baking literature," Jeffrey Hamelman's Bread features over 130 detailed, step-by-step formulas for dozens of versatile rye- and wheat-based sourdough breads, numerous breads made with yeasted pre-ferments, simple straight dough loaves, and dozens of variations. In addition, an International Contributors section is included, which highlights unique specialties by esteemed bakers from five continents. In this third edition of Bread, professional bakers, home bakers, and baking students will discover a diverse collection of flavors, tastes, and textures, hundreds of drawings that vividly illustrate techniques, and evocative photographs of finished and decorative breads.
Call Number: ML REF TX769 .H235 2021ISBN: 9781119577515Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Garde Manger: the art and craft of the cold kitchen, 4th ed. by
The leading guide to the professional kitchen's cold food station, now fully revised and updated Garde Manger: The Art and Craft of the Cold Kitchen has been the market's leading textbook for culinary students and a key reference for professional chefs since its original publication in 1999. This new edition improves on the last with the most up-to-date recipes, plating techniques, and flavor profiles being used in the field today. New information on topics like artisanal cheeses, contemporary styles of pickles and vinegars, and contemporary cooking methods has been added to reflect the most current industry trends. And the fourth edition includes hundreds of all-new photographs by award-winning photographer Ben Fink, as well as approximately 450 recipes, more than 100 of which are all-new to this edition. Knowledge of garde manger is an essential part of every culinary student's training, and many of the world's most celebrated chefs started in garde manger as apprentices or cooks. The art of garde manger includes a broad base of culinary skills, from basic cold food preparations to roasting, poaching, simmering, and sautéing meats, fish, poultry, vegetables, and legumes. This comprehensive guide includes detailed information on cold sauces and soups; salads; sandwiches; cured and smoked foods; sausages; terrines, pâtes, galantines, and roulades; cheese; appetizers and hors d'oeuvre; condiments, crackers, and pickles; and buffet development and presentation.
Call Number: ML RESERVE TX830 .G37 2012ISBN: 9780470587805Publication Date: 2012-04-16
Remarkable Service, 3rd ed. by
Transforming service into extraordinary guest experiences--with repeat business the reward For the past decade, Remarkable Service has been the most comprehensive guide to standard-setting restaurant service techniques and principles. This all-new edition features a completely reorganized, updated look at table service and foodservice management, from setting up a dining room and taking guests' orders to executing wine service and handling customer complaints. With straightforward advice from The Culinary Institute of America's expert table service and foodservice management faculty, Remarkable Service, Third Edition offers new "Scripts for Service Scenarios" throughout to help servers practice such real-world scenarios as recommending a dish, taking reservations, and dealing with special requests. This book also addresses the service needs of a wide range of dining establishments, from casual and outdoor dining to upscale restaurants and catering operations. Chapters cover everything from training and hiring staff, preparation for service, and front-door hospitality to money handling, styles of modern table service, and the relationship between the front and back of the house. Foreword by restaurateur Danny Meyer, whose restaurants are legendary for their world-class service Respected industry-wide as a contemporary reference guide and refresher for foodservice professionals
Call Number: ML RESERVE TX911.3 .M27 R45 2014ISBN: 9781118116876Publication Date: 2014-02-10
The Food Truck Handbook by
How to start, grow, and succeed in the food truck business. Food trucks have become a wildly popular and important part of the hospitality industry. Consumers are flocking to these mobile food businesses in droves, inspiring national food truck competitions and even a show dedicated to the topic on The Food Network. The relatively low cost of entry as compared to starting a restaurant, combined with free and low-cost ways to market them to the masses via platforms like social media, are just two of the reasons that food truck business are drawing in budding entrepreneurs. Author David Weber, a food truck advocate and entrepreneur himself, is here to offer his practical, step-by-step advice to achieving your mobile food mogul dreams in The Food Truck Handbook. This book cuts through all of the hype to give both hopeful entrepreneurs and already established truck owners an accurate portrayal of life on the streets. From concept to gaining a loyal following to preventative maintenance on your equipment this book covers it all. Includes profiles of successful food trucks, detailing their operations, profitability, and scalability. Establish best practices for operating your truck using one-of-a-kind templates for choosing vending locations, opening checklist, closing checklist, and more. Create a sound business plan complete with a reasonable budget and finding vendors you can trust; consider daily operations in detail from start to finish, and ultimately expand your business. Stay lean and profitable by avoiding the most common operating mistakes. Author David Weber is Founder and President of the NYC Food Truck Association (NYCFTA), which brings together small businesses that own and operate premium food trucks in NYC focused on innovation in hospitality, high quality food, and community development.
Call Number: CM RESERVE TX911.3.M27 .W38 2012ISBN: 9781118208816Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Professional Baking, 8th ed. by
A comprehensive and reliable approach to the foundations of baking, ideal for students and early-career professionals In the newly revised Eighth Edition to Professional Baking, best-selling author, Wayne Gisslen, delivers a comprehensive and accessible introduction to baking practices, including the selection of ingredients and proper mixing and baking techniques. The book discusses makeup and assembly, as well as skilled and imaginative decoration and presentation, in a straightforward and learner-friendly style. Each recipe and formula still includes US and metric measurements. The metric measurements have been updated and revised based on the baker's percentages of each ingredient; the strong technique instruction of the formulas and recipes remain unchanged from previous editions. The clear narrative is accompanied by links to technique videos, glossaries and audio pronunciations, math tutorials, and quizzes to assist the student and professional baker in the development of both foundational and more advanced skills. THE NEW EDITION INCLUDES: Updates to the art program, including new photos, tables, and illustrations throughout the book Revised and updated formulas and recipes, including new material on emulsions, revisions to the text explaining mixing techniques, no-knead breads, and double hydration New material and recipes on the construction of entremets and revised material on the Joconde Method and dough lamination This latest edition of Professional Baking is an indispensable resource for both students of baking and professional chefs seeking a sound theoretical and practical foundation in baking practices.
Call Number: ML RESERVE X763 .G47 2022ISBN: 9781119744993Publication Date: 2021-11-23
How Baking Works by
An up-to-date, comprehensive guide to understanding and applying food science to the bakeshop. The essence of baking is chemistry, and anyone who wants to be a master pastry chef must understand the principles and science that make baking work. This book explains the whys and hows of every chemical reaction, essential ingredient, and technique, revealing the complex mysteries of bread loaves, pastries, and everything in between. Among other additions, How Baking Works, Third Edition includes an all-new chapter on baking for health and wellness, with detailed information on using whole grains, allergy-free baking, and reducing salt, sugar, and fat in a variety of baked goods. This detailed and informative guide features: An introduction to the major ingredient groups, including sweeteners, fats, milk, and leavening agents, and how each affects finished baked goods Practical exercises and experiments that vividly illustrate how different ingredients function Photographs and illustrations that show the science of baking at work End-of-chapter discussion and review questions that reinforce key concepts and test learning For both practicing and future bakers and pastry chefs, How Baking Works, Third Edition offers an unrivaled hands-on learning experience.
Call Number: ML RESERVE TX763 .F54 2011ISBN: 9780470392676Publication Date: 2010-11-09
Available Online!
One user at a time.
Professional Cooking, 8th ed. by
Professional Cooking, 8th Edition reflects the changing nature of our understanding of cooking and related fields such as food safety, nutrition, and dietary practices, as well as new thinking about how best to teach this material. Familiar material reflects the core curriculum that has stayed focused on the essentials, the comprehensive understanding of ingredients and basic cooking techniques that are the foundation of success in the kitchen.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781118636725Publication Date: 2019-06-28
Professional Baking, 7th ed. by
Professional Baking, 7th Edition is the latest release of the market leading title for the baking course. Focused on both understanding and performing, its goal is to provide students and working chefs with a solid theoretical and practical foundation in baking practices, including selection of ingredients, proper mixing and baking techniques, careful makeup and assembly, and skilled and imaginative decoration and presentation in a straight-forward, learner-friendly style.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781119148449Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Food in New Jersey
News and Reviews
Places to Go, Things to Do
- JerseyBitesArticles and information about food in NJ.
- South Jersey FoodieA blog about food in south Jersey.
- South Jersey Food SceneNews and info about South Jersey restaurants, food, and drink.
- Anthony Bourdain Food TrailDiscover the New Jersey culinary roots of the late Anthony Bourdain, celebrity chef, best-selling author and globe-trotting food and travel documentarian, on this designated food trail. The Anthony Bourdain Food Trail pays tribute to Bourdain's childhood growing up in Leonia, New Jersey, and summers spent at the Jersey Shore. The trail spotlights 10 New Jersey restaurants featured on CNN's Emmy Award-winning Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown.
- Wine Trail in the Garden StateMultiple short trails throughout the Garden State, featuring local vinyards.
Trade Associations
Beer and Wine
- New Jersey Craft BeerResources and information relating to craft beer in NJ.
Social Responsibility
- Slow Food South Jersey Shore
the south Jersey chapter of the Slow Food organization. - Foodtank: The Think Tank for foodA nonprofit organization devoted to sustainable food.
- Hunger Free NJFighting hunger in NJ.
Start Your Career Here!
The Academy of Culinary Arts is an ideal place to prepare for your future in the culinary industry. We educate more culinary students each year than any other New Jersey culinary school. But we're still small enough to know your name and care about your success. Our tradition of providing superior culinary students has grown to a substantial network of ACA alumni around the world.
Atlantic Cape Fresh!
Click the photo to view the Flickr album of the Atlantic Cape greenhouse.
NJ Chefs
Celebrity Chefs of New Jersey by
One demanding New Jersey chef once tied his cooks to the stove by their apron strings. Another was such a finicky eater as a child, he refused to allow his cereal to touch his milk. One was kissed by Fidel Castro, another played onstage with Todd Rundgren. Celebrity Chefs of New Jersey peeks into the kitchens and the lives of some of the most famous chefs in the Garden State, where foodies and other gourmands will discover passions, kitchen secrets, life lessons, and signature recipes. Not so long ago, perhaps even just at the turn of this century, it was easy to lament the lack of sophisticated food in New Jersey. Oh sure, a few restaurants always sparkled, but, for the most part, New Jerseyans looked across at the bright lights of the big city, wistfully yearning for a table in glamorous Manhattan. Now, however, the most sought- after tables are right here and we have the best seats in the house, made even sweeter perhaps because they're our own little secret. We can dine frequently and dine well, with a smug sense that if only New Yorkers knew, they'd be looking across the river wishing they were us. In Celebrity Chefs of New Jersey, Teresa Politano profiles Craig Shelton, the chef who crystallized New Jersey's place in culinary history with his legendary Ryland Inn, along with other chefs, telling their personal stories of both creativity and survival. Some of these men and women rose from humble or difficult childhoods to fame in the food world. Others were not only talented but lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time. Their stories are arranged into three categories: legends, stars, and chefs to watch, and then topped off with a sweet surprise finish. Politano includes photographs, cooking secrets, and some of their sought-after signature recipes that are sophisticated but manageable for the skilled home chef.
Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9780813548975Publication Date: 2010-10-25
NJ Farmers Markets
Credits
This guide was developed by Ellen Parker, and revised by Robert Mast and Leslie Murtha, Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries.
Published 2012; last updated June 2023.