Going Green: Resources for Research on the Environment and Society: Books-eBooks
Finding Books
The libraries have many books that can help you to write about environmental issues. Check both our print and digital collections for books on your chosen topic.
There are two tools you can use to find books at the Atlantic Cape Libraries.
- Use the Book Catalog to find printed books on the shelves in the college libraries and throughout the Atlantic County Library System.
- Use the E-Book Collection to find books in our digital collection.( Off campus authentication required.)
Why Use Books?
Question: What value lies in books? Why, for example, would a researcher choose a book over a journal?
Answer: Because of their length, books tend to provide more comprehensive treatment of a topic. Books can also be useful for providing footnotes to additional materials.
With thanks to Kristina DeVoe (text) and Anne Harlow (design), Samuel L. Paley Library, Temple University.
Off Campus database access
► Databases and eBooks can be accessed from Off Campus through the Off Campus Proxy Server ◄
The username and password can be found in Blackboard on the Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can email library@atlanticcape.edu for username and password.
♦ Limited to current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape Community College ♦
Your Library Card
Activate Your Library Account
Visit the circulation desk of any Atlantic Cape library. You'll need your college ID.
To borrow books, use reserve books, laptop computers or equipment in the library you will need to activate your library account. Your College ID becomes your library card, along with a PIN code that you will choose. Once your account is activated, you can borrow material from the Atlantic Cape Libraries, get material delivered from any of our partner libraries in the Atlantic County Library System, and much more.
You can also use your College ID to apply for a Community Account to borrow materials from Richard Stockton University, for a library card from the Atlantic City Free Public Library, and from the Atlantic County Library System and Cape May County libraries.
Which Library?
If the location is Atlantic Cape Community College, the book lives in Spangler Library, on the Mays Landing campus.
If the location is Cape May Campus, the book lives in the library on the Cape May County campus.
If the location is Worthington Center, the book lives in the library on the Atlantic City campus.
All other locations refer to the Atlantic County public and school libraries.
Search Atlantic Cape eBook Collections
Subject Terms for Green Topics
|
Human ecology Climatic changes Environmental protection Environmental policy Green movement Environmental chemistry Green technology Environmental engineering. Renewable energy sources Energy policy. |
Environmental economics. Capitalism--Environmental aspects Economic development--Environmental aspects Industrial management--Environmental aspects Small business--Environmental aspects. Sustainable living Environmental responsibility Social responsibility of business. Sustainable agriculture--United States. Local foods--United States. Sustainable architecture Ecotourism Green marketing |
Search the catalog
Interlibrary Loan
Did you find an article not available in full text? How about a book not owned by Atlantic Cape or the Atlantic County Library System.
All is not lost. The library may be able to get your article or book from another library. The Interlibrary loan service is free to all current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape.
- Don't wait too long to make your request. Books may take 7-10 days to arrive. Articles may take up to 7 days.
Please be sure to provide as complete a citation as possible, so the lending library can quickly locate your request.
Interlibrary Loan for Articles
- Loan periods are set by the lending library.
From the E-Book Collection
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
Environmental Encyclopedia by
Consisting of nearly 1,300 signed articles and term definitions, the 3rd edition of the award-winning "Environmental Encyclopedia provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis and suggests solutions whenever possible.
Call Number: Gale Virtual Reference LibraryISBN: 9780787654863Publication Date: 2002-11-01
Green Business by
Businesses increasingly recognize their capacity to help solve global environmental and social challenges, and the most innovate understand the business case for addressing such issues as climate change, water scarcity, pollution, poverty, hunger, and inequality. Via 150 signed entries, Green Business: An A-to-Z Guide provides an overview of key principles, approaches, strategies, and tools that businesses have used to reduce environmental impacts and contribute to sustainability. Entries reflect the expertise of scholars and practitioners from varied fields and provide references to other entries as well as citations for further reading. Together, they provide an understanding of green business practices that will be valuable for managers, policymakers, students, scholars, and citizens interested in the complex relationship between businesses and the environment. Vivid photos, searchable hyperlinks, numerous cross references, an extensive resource guide, and a clear, accessible writing style make the Green Society volumes ideal for classroom use.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412996846Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Cities by
Via 150 signed articles, Green Cities: An A-to-Z Guide provides an overview of the key concepts that urban planners, policy makers, architects, engineers, and developers use to understand the sustainability dimensions of the urban environment. It identifies cities that have taken steps to become greener and discusses the strategies they have used; it also reviews broad concepts associated with green cities. Cities face enormous environmental challenges, and the entries in this volume, from case studies of greener cities to discussions of green urban design, infrastructure, and processes, can help us transform our cities into healthier, sustainable communities in which a growing urban population can thrive. Vivid photographs, searchable hyperlinks, numerous cross references, an extensive resource guide, and a clear, accessible writing style make the Green Society volumes ideal for classroom use as well as for research.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412996822Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Consumerism by
Via 150 signed entries, Green Consumerism: An A-to-Z Guide offers a wide-ranging examination of green consumerism, one reflecting the diversity of views and debates surrounding the concept. The multiplicity of topics and disciplinary perspectives provides a useful survey of the nature of green consumerism, the forms it takes, the issues impacting it, and the practices it involves. Contributing authors also provide insights into the social and spacial constitution of green consumerism, its multifaceted and sometimes contested contours, and the ways it is embedded and shaped in relation to wider cultural, economic, political and environmental processes. Readers will derive a sense not only of what green consumerism has become, but more critically, how it might evolve, addressing both limitations and possibilities for real and meaningful change. Vivid photographs, searchable hyperlinks, numerous cross references, an extensive resource guide, and a clear, accessible writing style make the Green Society volumes ideal for classroom use as well as for research.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412996853Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Food by
This third volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society lays out the contours of the field of agri-food studies. It draws on scholars working in the fields of political ecology, rural sociology, geography, and environmental studies to paint a picture of the past, present, and future of agriculture and food. It provides readers with a basic understanding of the institutions, practices, and concepts to identify what is and is not a "green" food. Because food is so intimately connected to our daily lives, the food system offers perhaps the most promise to make change in a sustainable direction. This volume addresses what a sustainable and green food system might look like, what policies would help realize it, and what kinds of tradeoffs we face in deciding which paths to choose. Green Food: An A-to-Z Guide provides people interested in food and agricultural systems the basic analytical and conceptual ideas that explain why our food system looks the way it does, and what can be done to change it for the better. Roughly 150 entries discuss how to address issues related to a green food system, and vivid photos, searchable hyperlinks, numerous cross references, an extensive resource guide, and a clear, accessible writing style make the Green Society volumes ideal for classroom use.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412996808Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste by
Archaeologists and anthropologists have long studied artifacts of refuse from the distant past as a portal into ancient civilizations, but examining what we throw away today tells a story in real time and becomes an important and useful tool for academic study. Trash is studied by behavioral scientists who use data compiled from the exploration of dumpsters to better understand our modern society and culture. Why does the average American household send 470 pounds of uneaten food to the garbage can on an annual basis? How do different societies around the world cope with their garbage in these troubled environmental times? How does our trash give insight into our attitudes about gender, class, religion, and art? The Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste explores the topic across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and ranges further to include business, consumerism, environmentalism, and marketing to comprise an outstanding reference for academic and public libraries.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412988193Publication Date: 2012-02-29
Sustainable Development Handbook by
Sustainable development is a concept that incorporates energy, urban management, environmental objectives, policy integration, and the idea that effective solutions can be achieved in a cooperative manner with concerted effort. Gaining momentum on the world stage in recent years, sustainable development is beginning to significantly redefine the policies and decision making of both corporations and governmental entities. This book is intended to clarify critical issues, proven approaches and potential pitfalls associated with such initiatives, covering underlying concepts, renewable energy solutions, environmental issues, green design and LEED(r) programs, sustainable industrial processes, sustainable development policy considerations, local government programs, corporate programs, tracking results, and future trends. This edition includes complete updates on measurement and verification for LEED projects, as well as carbon reduction.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780881736373Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Just a Few of Our Books
Introduction to Energy by
Given the potential disruption of climate change, understanding energy issues and technologies is more important than ever if societies are to make informed choices on policy. Now in its third edition, Introduction to Energy explores the crucial issues connected to modern energy technology and its uses. Fully updated to respond to the substantial developments in the energy sector, the book expands on the relationships of energy use and climate change; of energy availability and the alleviation of world poverty; and of energy consumption and the sustainability of the lifestyles of people in the industrialized world. Directed at a broad readership, it assumes no prior technical expertise and avoids complex mathematical formulations, continuing to provide a standard for introductory energy courses. It is also a useful supplementary text for programs in public policy, business law and resource economics.
Call Number: TJ 163.2 .C4 2017 (AC)ISBN: 9781107605046Publication Date: 2017-07-06
The Plot to Save the Planet by Call Number: HD 75.6 .D84 2008ISBN: 9780307406187Publication Date: 2008-06-24
Environmental Engineering by Call Number: TA 170 .M36 2010ISBN: 9780816072002Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
Imagining Sustainable Food Systems by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780754678168Publication Date: 2010-10-15
Credits
This guide was developed by Leslie Murtha, Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries.
Published 2015.