All Atlantic Cape library pages have a new web address. Please update any bookmarks you may have.
Hospitality Resources: Management Theory & Practice
Resources for hospitality students
Management Research
Hospitality management is a part of the broader field of business management, and theoretical and practical information from the business field can be applied to the hospitality industry. Additionally, the field of hospitality management has its own literature. To find information about how to manage a hospitality business, both library and trade resources are important.
Another side of research for hospitality managment is practical research to identify suppliers, regulations, technology, and other resources needed for the everyday tasks of running a hospitality business.
A few of Our Books
Introduction to Hospitality Management by Call Number: TX911.3.M27 W35 2004ISBN: 9780131112933Publication Date: 2003-03-17
Technology Strategies for the Hospitality Industry by Call Number: TX911.3.E4 N95 2005ISBN: 9780130305046Publication Date: 2004-02-27
Managing the Guest Experience in Hospitality by Call Number: TX911.3.C8 F67 2000ISBN: 9780766814158Publication Date: 1999-12-13
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
Sustainable Hospitality and Tourism Management by
Sustainable Hospitality and Tourism Management examines various aspects of environmental issues that are encountered bythe two most emerging industry in the world, i.e. Hospitalityand tourism industry. It includes basic concepts of sustainablehospitality and tourism management along with the meaningof sustainable travel and importance of food security. Providesthe reader with the insights into the consumer behavior and theresponsibility of the staff working under the hospitality and tourism business. This is tomake readers understand various dimensions of achieving customer loyalty by adoptingsustainable practices.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781774070130.Publication Date: 2019-01-30
Hospitality Strategic Management by
Updated to include the current models, theories, and hospitality practices, Hospitality Strategic Management: Concept and Cases, Second Edition is a comprehensive guide to strategic management in the international hospitality industry. Author Cathy A. Enz uses the case study approach to cover current topics such as innovation, entrepreneurship, leadership, ethics, and franchising. Eight full case studies with exhibits and documents address the areas of lodging, food service, tourism e-commerce, gaming, cruise lines, and airlines, making this book ideal for executive level training courses or hospitality industry executives interested in developing their strategic management skills.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470083598Publication Date: 2009-04-07
Hospitality Financial Management by
Real-world advice for quick retention of the most importantbusiness concepts and skills of hospitality finance Hospitality Financial Management provides astraightforward, practical approach to help the hospitality managereffectively analyze hospitality industry management reports andfinancial statements; prepare accurate business forecasts,strategic pricing models, and effective cost-control systems;manage working capital; develop and finance growth strategies;perform investment analysis; prepare investment packages; negotiateand structure business deals; and ultimately increase shareholdervalue and personal wealth. This comprehensive how-to book includes: Feature Stories--brief histories of famous hospitality leadershighlighting how they have used financial management skills toattain success for their companies and significant financialrewards for themselves Learning Outcomes--a summary of key topics covered in eachchapter Finance in Action--scenarios that apply the concepts, skills,and techniques presented in the chapter to real-world situations. Astep-by-step solution is provided for each problem to walk thereader through the necessary financial calculations The Real Deal--boxed inserts that emphasize the relevance ofthe book by linking financial concepts to fun facts associated withsituations students either have or will encounter in their everydaylives Concept Checks--case studies that reinforce the materialspresented and enable students to practice their analytic andproblem-solving skills Hospitality Financial Management is the perfect book forundergraduate and graduate hospitality management students,hospitality industry managers, and owners of small hospitalitybusinesses.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780471692164Publication Date: 2006-10-20
Resources for Managment Theory
- Hospitality Administration and Management CommonsThe Digital Commons Network a searchable archive of professional literature. Open access articles.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
- Business Source EliteCombine the keyword "trends" with terms that describe the industry sector in which you are interested. Examples: hospitality AND trends; tourism AND trends
- GreenFileLook here for articles on ecotourism and green business practices. If you are working from off campus, don't forget to log in.
- PsycInfoUse PsycInfo to find information on consumer behavior and attitudes, human resource management, social responsibility and business ethics, interpersonal communication, and psychological dimensions of management, marketing, and advertising. If you are working from off campus, don't forget to log in.
- SocIndexUse SocIndex to find information on work environment, customer satisfaction, gambling, lifestyles, recreation, leisure, travel, and other social dimensions of the hospitality industry. If you are working from off campus, don't forget to log in.
General Hospitality Management Resources
- HospitalityNetA news and information portal for hospitality professionals.
- National Restaurant Association Management ResourcesAdvice and information on a variety of topics.
International Business
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
International Business by
The new and updated edition of this widely used text is equally useful for undergraduate and graduate students of international business. Its student-friendly format, detailed coverage of classic and timely topics, and extensive use of case studies make it widely adaptable for different level courses, as well as for educators who prefer either a case study or lecture approach. This edition features new coverage of the Asian financial crisis and the European Union. Its treatment of such topics as foreign exchange, international trade policy, and economic development introduces students to techniques for analysing national economies that are not covered in many competing texts. Ethical and environmental issues are also covered in detail, and all case studies, tables, and figures have been thoroughly revised and updated. Each chapter includes a short case study, while longer, more complex case studies conclude the text. Each chapter also features learning objectives, discussion questions, and references. An online instructor's guide that includes PowerPoints with end-of-chapter answers and maps is available to instructors who adopt the text.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780765631343Publication Date: 2013-12-30
International Business Diplomacy by
Multinational enterprises (MNEs) experienced 'golden days' during the 1990s and 2000s, they expanded globally and were major players in globalization. Today they have become powerful actors in the global economy. CEOs of international businesses are welcomed by heads of state as their counterparts, they are invited by governments to help solve global issues such as climate change and poverty, and they are facing dilemmas comparable to those of other international actors. However, MNEs are facing global legitimacy challenges. They are suspected of tax avoidance, using low wage countries for corporate benefits only, disrespecting privacy regulations, abusing consumer data, violating local community rights, exploiting natural resources, ignoring basic human rights, and employing too many lobbyists targeting national and international political decision-making processes for their own corporate interests. Although many of these challenges are not new, they have resurfaced and become more apparent during the past couple of years, partly due to the economic recession that many developed economies have faced and to the broader awareness of increasing global inequality and the importance of sustainability. How can international business respond? Strategic business diplomacy may be the answer. Business diplomacy involves developing strategies for long-term, positive relationship building with governments, local communities, and interest groups, aiming to establish and sustain legitimacy and to mitigate the risks arising from all non-commercial or exogenous factors in the global business environment. Business diplomacy is different from lobbying or strategic political activity; it implies an (strategic / holistic) approach of an international business to look at itself as an actor in the international diplomatic arena. Representation, communication and negotiation are key in such an approach.One of the consequences is that MNEs are able to operate in and show respect for an international business environment that consists of multiple stakeholders. This demands a strategic perspective and vision on the sector and the business environments in which the company wants to operate, and requires a specific set of instruments, skills and competences.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781787430822Publication Date: 2017-11-23
Credits
This guide was developed by Leslie Murtha, Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries.
Published 2016. Updated January 2020.