All Atlantic Cape library pages have a new web address. Please update any bookmarks you may have.
Hospitality Resources: Marketing and Market Research
Resources for hospitality students
Getting Started with Marketing Research
Marketing research is vitally important for any business. Most large companies will have whole departments devoted to marketing, and money to spend on customized research. Small businesses frequently must conduct their own market research, using tools that are publicly available, and spending money selectively for prepared reports or customized primary research.
The specific questions that should be asked will depend on the specific context of the business and the marketing initiative, but marketing questions generally fall into five broad categories:
- Economic, social, political, and legal environment: what's going on in the world
- Industry conditions and competitive intelligence
- Customers and their characteristics
- Product or service
- Place-specific conditions (keep in mind that the place can be online)
A key element in marketing and entrepreneurial research is routine, ongoing scanning of the business environment. This means keeping up with world and national news. For many hospitality businesses, local news is also highly important. It's also essential to maintain awareness of what's going on in the industry, and in the business world in general. Use some of the news sources here as part of your current awareness strategy, and don't forget about the trade journals listed on the Articles page.
What is Marketing?
Reference Tools
eMarketing: The Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World - 6th Edition by Call Number: Open Access etextbookISBN: 9780620565158Publication Date: 2013
Principles of Marketing by Call Number: Open Access etextbookISBN: 9781946135193Publication Date: 2015-10-27
Some Books - eBooks
Internet Marketing in Hospitality by Call Number: TX911.3.E4 C68 2004ISBN: 0130984752Publication Date: 2004-02-06
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
Social Media in Travel Tourism and Hospitality by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781409485148Publication Date: 2012-02-28
Strategic Marketing in Tourism Services by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781780520711Publication Date: 2012-05-23
Marketing Research by
This book examines and emphasizes the differences in marketing research designs across cultures, paying attention to differences between international consumers and cultural norms that affect marketing initiatives, and several factors for consideration in international marketing research. This book argues that the right marketing research supports faster decisions lowering the risk with the measurable parameters and drives competitive sustainability among companies in the rapidly growing international marketplace. This book not only addresses those limitations but also presents new research designs and breakthroughs in managing marketing information for assuring business gains in terms of increasing market share, augmenting profit, and building market competitiveness. Research-driven companies stand out in their ability to continuously anticipate market opportunities and develop the ability to respond before their competitors. The market learning processes in consumer-centric companies are distinguished by open research inquiries, widespread information analysis to ensure relevant facts for strategy formulation, and developing business analytics models to guide competitive strategies. This book addresses the approaches towards overcoming the above organizational learning disabilities and enhancing market-learning competency to enable companies to stay abreast of the market environment through appropriate periodical market research analysis. The book explains how to refresh consumer value with small changes in marketing policy to larger and sustainable research effects in the threshold markets, and how to help companies gain competitive advantages using methodical marketing research and its implications. The linear path of marketing research in guiding companies to do business in the international marketplace has been illustrated in the book through logical market behavior analysis; it describes how marketing research guides the companies to build sustainable strategies in the competitive marketplace. This book introduces the concept of market transitions, marketing research, and strategic business management. It covers complex elements of the marketing research and discusses the contemporary research designs, tools, and techniques in reference to management, behavioral theories, and applications. The broad foundation of this book is laid on the conceptual discussions and applied arguments of marketing research in reference to the business sustainability of companies. This book significantly contributes to the existing literature and serves as an essential compendium for students, researchers and business managers.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781536130294Publication Date: 2018-02-01
Mobile Marketing by
Mobile Marketing is a clear, practical guide to harnessing the mobile consumer and tackling the rising challenges of divided user attention across multiple screens at the same time. It demystifies the vast spectrum of tools and techniques now available and explains how to optimize these dynamics into an innovative and effective mobile marketing strategy. Now that website search rankings take into account mobile optimization, no serious marketer can do without a thorough understanding of mobile. The first edition of Mobile Marketing won the Judge's Choice Award in Social Media at the Small Business Trend's 2014 Book Awards. This fully revised 2nd edition includes straightforward explanations on mobile optimized content, app development, social media and proximity based marketing. It has also expanded to include two brand new chapters on mobile and email and on location-based devices, plus cutting-edge updates on advances in wearable technology, mobile payments, virtual reality and strategies for the changing user journey. Integrated with tactical checklists, easy application frameworks and powerful case study insights such as Heineken, WordPress, MailChimp, Nike Training Club (NTC), Google Play and Moz, it provides a full overview from service provision and technology integration to content strategy, ready to capture fast-moving consumers on the go. Online resources include a digital marketing instructors manual, supporting lecture slides, example exam and self-test questions, and a content calendar template.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780749479794Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Tourism Marketing by
"Tourism Marketing: On Both Sides of the Counter is the fourth successful publication by the team that runs the bi-annual Advances in Tourism Marketing Conference, following its foundation by Prof. Metin Kozak.The current volume contains a selection of the best papers presented at the conference in Maribor, Slovenia, in September 2011. As that year's conference title indicates, it comprises research important for tourism management, by focusing on tourist behaviour with relevance to managerial strategies and operational practices, as well as on business operations, vision and goals, and their impact on tourist experiences.Contributions are clearly arranged into five parts covering topical consumption issues: image, satisfaction, and social and environmental research results. The last two sections cover timely and managerially relevant contributions on tourism ITC, innovation and competitiveness research. The contributions reflect the vibrancy of ATMC and the high calibre of researchers the conference attracts. The book offers itself as a reader for researchers and students of tourism as well as a compelling update on topical research issues in tourism marketing."
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781443842594Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Rural Marketing by
This highly practical and informative book provides unique insights into the essential features of rural markets in India as well as challenges posed by the rural consumer. Retaining the managerial perspective of the first edition, this second edition has been thoroughly revised and expanded, and examines in greater detail the concept of rural markets and rural marketing. It also contains numerous short cases to illustrate how social and cultural habits influence rural consumer behaviour.The book contains comprehensive insights into:- The nature and patterns of rural behaviour. - A detailed profile of the rural market.- The opportunities available in rural markets and new methods used to access the rural consumer.- Strategic decisions for new product development.- Promotion, distribution, communication, and channel servicing decisions.- the importance of rural market institutions such as haats and melas.- Emerging channels to access rural market.A guide to strategic marketing and management decisions, this book will be of interest to students of marketing and management as well as professionals in the field.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780761935889Publication Date: 2007-12-18
Resources for Primary Research
- Overview of Market Research MethodsA quick overview of research methodologies
- Questionnaire designFrom Pew Research Center
- Managing and Manipulating Survey Data: A Beginners GuideFrom Harvard University
- Survey MonkeyAn online survey tool. Create short surveys with limited data options for free, or subscribe to the premium product.
- TypeformA free survey tool with a conversational approach.
- Google FormsAsk questions, create surveys, get feedback.
- Google AnalyticsCollect information about people who visit your web site.
- Poll EverywherePoll a live audience using smartphones.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
- Key Concepts in Business and Management Research MethodsOnline reference book from Credo Reference. Off-campus users must log in.
What is Marketing Research?
Consumers, Products, Places
- United States Quick FactsBasic population data from the decennial census and current estimates. For more detailed statistics, use the American Community Survey.
Consumer demographics and behavior, geographic information, and information that relates to specific brands, products, or services are all important components of marketing research.
- Regional Economic AccountsFrom the Bureau of Economic Analysis, state and regional data on income, employment, and consumption.
- Administration for Community LivingACL provides data and statistics on older adults as well as persons with physical and intellectual and developmental disabilities.
- City-DataDetailed profiles of places down to the neighborhood level.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
- Business Source EliteCombine the keyword "trends" with terms that describe the industry sector in which you are interested. Examples: hospitality AND trends; tourism AND trends
- PsycInfoThe PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
- SocIndexContains articles from journals, magazines and newsletters, as well as content from other publications within the field of sociology, including criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, addictions, violence and many others
Marketing Tools
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
- Key Concepts in MarketingOnline reference book from Credo Reference. Off-campus users must log in.
- Key Concepts in Public RelationsOnline reference book from Credo Reference. Off-campus users must log in.
All the News
- NJ.comStories from NJ regional newspapers, including the Star Ledger.
Business News
- Marketplace (American Public Media)Website to public radio "program which looks at the entire world through the lenses of business, economics and finance."
HospitalityNet News
Loading ...
Hospitality Industry Trends
Trend-spotting is an important facet of current awareness for market research. Use these sources and others to follow trends in the Hospitaltiy industry.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
- Business Source EliteCombine the keyword "trends" with terms that describe the industry sector in which you are interested. Examples: hospitality AND trends; tourism AND trends
Credits
This guide was developed by Leslie Murtha, Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries.
Published 2016. Updated January 2020.